why i want not to live

To live is a burden I bear daily
I can’t breathe and I am trying my best
To hold my breath and not let it slip
But my weary heart is begging me for rest

Every nerve wrapping bones squeeze
Sometimes so tight, choking my dreams
How long should I pretend to be okay
Forget my nightmares and endless screams

I don’t want to live, I’ll give all the reasons
I am among millions who won’t be missed
The pain would disappear, I’ll be at peace
I’ll stop meeting the past at every twist

I don’t want to live because I am so tired
Tired of waking with aching body and heart
Tired of listening ‘It’s okay’ when it’s not
Tired of everything I can’t hold and falling apart

In death, I’ll find peace and my God and love
When I am no more, kind words will be said
When I’m gone, things will be same as always
I’ll be done and find freedom when I’m dead

Leave a comment